Male-bashing vs. Female-bashing

Leave a comment

March 30, 2014 by flyaway13

“U + Ur Hand,” by P!nk, is a song I love listening to when I’m angry. It makes me feel powerful, energized, and unstoppable. I think the aspects that resonate most with me are the driving beat and the chorus (“…you don’t really wanna mess with me tonight”). Here is a link to the music video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YUtHjOvPKT0

Why is it that I love listening to P!nk, who regularly bashes men in her songs, but can’t abide by male pop stars bashing women? The former seems bold and empowering, while the latter feels sexist and rude. I can’t decide if this difference in perception is due to my bias (being female myself) or due to context and the historical predominance of female-bashing. Am I just hyper-sensitve? Do P!nk’s male counterparts really impart a different tone in their angry songs directed at women? I will admit, there are some songs (directed harshly toward females) that I listen to regardless of the lyrics because I enjoy the beat and melody so much. Does this mean I am condoning sexism and gender violence? Are these themes even present in mainstream pop songs?
Please share your thoughts!

Leave a comment